Skip to content
View All News & Stories

Say Yes Student Spotlight | Hunter Kusak


Where did you go to high school, and when did you graduate?

I went to Nottingham High School and graduated at the beginning of the pandemic in 2020, a year earlier than my intended graduation date.

What college are you going to & what is your major(s)/minor(s)?

I attend Syracuse University and am majoring in Public Health. I will be graduating a year early (at the end of the summer of 2023)

What do you like most about college?

My favorite thing about college is being able to explore the variety of interests I have, while having professors there to help guide my curiosity and expand my knowledge.

What are your goals after college (career, future plans, etc.)?

Immediately after graduation I hope to working with one of the local agencies that facilitate a evidence based sex education in the SCSD, as well as do outreach within the community to help spread information on safe sex, mental health resources, and harm reduction strategies. I would eventually love to develop an evidence-based, pleasure centered, and queer empowering sex education for college aged folx. Begin to teach that locally, but travel state to state and college to college teaching that much needed education.

How did you learn about Say Yes to Education Syracuse?

I learned about Say Yes to Education Syracuse through my guidance counselor, Tracy Daige, who had helped me so much during my time at Nottingham.

What does Say Yes mean to you?

Say Yes is one of the best programs I have been introduced too. Without Say Yes I would not have gone to, or been able to attend college.

What advice would you give high school students who are considering seeking a college degree through Say Yes?

I would say go for it and enjoy your college experience! Take your time to find something that you are very passionate about and have fun every step of the way. You have to opportunity to make some lifelong connections with peers and professors that can help you while in college and later while you are in the workforce.

Anything else you want to add? (Fun facts, etc.)

I love to play the guitar, saxophone, and piano. As well as swim, play volleyball, and go white water rafting. My favorite types of music are disco, RnB, rap, and queer country. I was recently chosen as a Queer Icon at an art exhibit that displayed here in Syracuse that focused on BIPOC queer artists and activists within the community.